Let’s Take This Outside…

This post is going to be details about the exterior of my house. Oh, and I don’t know the names of plants. Sorry.

IMG_0099

The reason I’m basically posting these pictures again is because I got a new camera! I used to have a Sony DSLR but was not impressed by the quality of the photos and it was not very easy to use. I ended up getting a Canon Rebel T3i and LOVE it. Would you look at these photos? Ok, enough about the camera.

IMG_0101

(Yes, my house number is there)

IMG_0109

Here is the stoop and portico/ landing. My mom and I love the show Rehab Addict, so we hang an American flag out there as a little shout out to Nicole. My mom got the sconces a few years ago, which are ok, but we just picked up some new (to us) sconces at a salvage yard that I’m stoked about!

IMG_0110

Here is a shutter close up. Pretty self explanatory, they are black.

IMG_0115

And below is a door close up. No, that is not a Christmas wreath, I just like it. I think it balances the door and adds more dimensions. The color is something by Behr, but we can’t seem to remember the name. It’s just your classic red door!

IMG_0116

And as you can see from this detail shot below, the concrete ain’t looking too hot.

IMG_0118

Power-washing is in its future. This is a close up of one of the lights. It’s by no means repelling, but half of our neighbors have the same ones and I have more of a shaker, clean lined style while this is rather ornate.

IMG_0119

Awkward siding shot.

IMG_0122

IMG_0124

Ah, the lamp post. The top kept falling off, so here is our classy solution:

IMG_0125

Duct tape.

 

Heres’ the garage.

IMG_0126

I love the side yard. We live on a corner (between two courts- our street is bone shaped as I like to say) so this and and angle of this front of the house is what we see when we drive up, so it has to be pretty, right?
IMG_0129

The windows supports window boxes that are in great need of a little love. And while I dream of being really handy and making something like this or this, I will probably never get around to it.

IMG_0130

As you can see above, a little pathway leads into the backyard where you can immediately see our sunroom.

IMG_0132

 

IMG_0136

Since there’s so much green, it’s kinda hard to photograph.

IMG_0137

IMG_0140

 

You may be wondering: Why do they have a dining set in their shrubbery? That’s a good question. Anyone in the DC area interested in it?

IMG_0142

IMG_0144

IMG_0145

As you can see, the other side yard has grown a lot since I last photographed it:

IMG_2221.JPG

Ahhh, so much greener.

 

 

IMG_0146

IMG_0147

Here is a little basement entrance that kept the deck above it so small. Urgh.

IMG_0148

And then here are the stairs that lead to the deck.

IMG_0149

IMG_0154

IMG_0155

 

Ta-da! All done! Any questions?

Does anyone have any go-to plants that they like for a backyard? I love hydrangeas, but my black thumb is no good for something like that. :( Single tear.

Leave a Reply

