Let’s Get Down to Business…

…to defeat the Huns. Did they send me daughters when I asked for soooonsss? Let’s be honest, who didn’t think of that song when they read this?

As much as I wish that I had a professional career, I don’t. As for how a make some money, I like to babysit. I actually really like it. Kids have always been fun for me.

When I meet a parent and they ask for my contact information, I usually just give them some random piece of paper that I find and scribble my name, email and phone number. I get jobs with it, but would just like to make myself a bit more professional.

Obviously if you work at a place that makes them for you, you can stick with that, but if not, here are some great (cheap) ideas:


 

1. Order From a Website

 

Vistaprint, my friend, is awesome. My mom gets our Christmas cards from there and they are great quality and not expensive. Another great perk of Vistaprint? They have business cards for F-R-E-E (minus shipping). Since these are the kind of options they give you (what else do you expect?) I would recommend using this:

business card 1

And transforming it into something your own. If you need some ideas I would:

– Use watercolor to add some interest:

business card 1 watercolor

 

(Minus the whole photoshop- effect)

– Add a small border:

business card 1 border

– Order it without your name/ company and write your own:

business card 1 without name copy

 

 


2. Make your own from Photoshop or Word.

(Remember to get thick paper!!)

I just don’t really understand Photoshop, but if you do, it would be a great place to customize it.

If you want to know how to do it in Word, follow along.

a

(Sorry Mac users, I have no idea how to do this on one! PS- I am jealous of your computer)

Go to “File”, click “New”, then under “Office Templates” search “basic text business cards” then “Download”. It will download and open immediately.

b

 

Click “Format Card Text” and then the down arrow that says “<all text>”

c d

Below you will see what I chose.

e

Now “Edit Card Text”

f g

 

I would recommend doing DIYing some art or else you would have to format every one on the different cards. Ugh.

 

Sorry this post is up later than I said it would! Comment below if you have any questions.

Leave a Reply

