A Little Cash From Craiglist

Update! I am going to be getting a filing cabinet (I think) so once I have it done, this post will have my photos, not ones that I have from the internet. Don’t know when I’ll have this done, hopefully soon!

I thought that it would be a fun idea if I did a little tutorial on how to make a little moolah on Craigslist.

Here are the step my step instructions:

I just found this desk on Craigslist randomly in my area. Try to find one that looks like it is good quality and has good potential.

Pick up the item. Duh.

(Via)
Once you bring it home sand it to have something for the paint to grip onto.

(Via)
It is pretty hard to find Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in stores and delivery prices is just a waste of money. Here’s how to make your own:
Ingredients-
Wall Paint of Choice
Plaster of Paris
Cool water (temperature, but bonus points if you have trendy water)
Steps-

1. Mix 1/3 cup of plaster of Paris and 1/3 cup of cool water then stir until completely smooth. 

2. Mix that with 1 cup of latex paint and stir thoroughly. 

And that’s it.

This will make enough paint for one coat on a six-drawer dresser. 

This is a one time use paint. Do not store. To tell you the truth I don’t know what happens if you do, but I just wouldn’t.

(Via)
Obviously this is a key part. You could also stain it if you think that would look better.
I would also suggest that you get new hardware (knobs, screws, legs, stuff like that) I depend on IKEA. They have good quality items for dirt cheap.
(Via)
Ok, so you don’t have to blow dry it but at least keep it in a dry area overnight.
(Via)
Time to re-list it.
I would suggest taking the price that you got the piece (free) paired with how much you payed for in materials and multiply that by 25%. No one goes on Craigslist to find some fancy over-priced piece of furniture. I don’t think.
Also- take a good picture! I can’t tell you how many people take an AWFUL picture or even worse no picture at all. You deserve to show off what you’ve done!

(Via)
You are probably not going to become a millionaire doing this, but you will get a small profit.
Good luck, DIYers! Send me pics of your finished pieces!

2 thoughts on “A Little Cash From Craiglist

  1. Thank you for sharing this, Sarah! I’ve been thinking about selling my dining room set on CL lately. I’m nervous as I’ve never sold anything before and also inviting strangers into my home to look at it. Maybe I can keep it in the garage?

    1. No problem, Brandi! Selling things on Craigslist is actually less sketchy than you would think. I think that putting it in your garage is a great idea! Sometimes having people in your home is uncomfortable even if you know them ;)

Leave a Reply

