How to NOT Go To Thanksgiving Dinner and Blow Your Diet

Happy Thanksgiving!!

I would definitely have to say that Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. As I’m typing this I am watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. Love it! Not only because of the turkey, and mashed potatoes with gravy, but also the warm feeling that you get when you get to see family and friends and catch up.

Well back to regularly scheduled post:

Welcome to the season of hibernation. 
We Americans, we gain weight during this time of the year. Of course, not to say that everyone is overweight, but a lot of Americans tend to eat a lot during the holidays.
I’m here today to show you how to combat eating wayyy too much on Thanksgiving. (Because there are leftovers and then, of course, Christmas and then leftovers and then it’s so cold out, its hard to find a time to get outside and take a walk and stuff.)
So back to Thanksgiving.
Tip #1:
Sign up for a Turkey Trot early Thanksgiving morning. There are at least 10 events in my area, so there should be one close to you. Even if you don’t run, you can walk it, or just do the “fun” run (oxymoron), which is only a mile.
Tip #2:
Drink a lot of water before going to the party. Drinking water is not only very good for your skin/ other things but it will make you feel fuller.
Tip #3:
Drink water at the party. Sure, you could have a tasty soda or two, but there is nothing worse than wasting calories on drinks.Well I mean there is, but you know what I mean. Trust me, it’s not worth it. Save that for the eggnog.
Tip #4:
Eat slowly. This will prevent you from eating too much too fast and then feeling sick. You will eat less and feel more satisfied.
Tip #5:
Once you feel full, stop eating. I’m serious. You are going to have dessert and if you still feel “hungry”/ craving some more stuffing, eat a little bit more and then have more water.
Tip #6:
If you’re not crazy about something, don’t eat it. Personally, I’m not a huge fan of pie or stuffing (I know, I’ve been told that I’m weird), so I won’t eat it. Just because it’s there and everyone else is eating it, doesn’t mean you should too. Another easy way to save calories. Which leads us to…
Tip #7:
Unless you’re hosting, don’t make things that you will be tempted to “taste” before the party. I make pie. I don’t like pie, making it really easy to stay away from it. If you don’t like sweet potatoes or corn, make it. I promise, it has saved me a lot of calories.
Tip #8:
Give a lot of your leftovers to the people who are hosting/ other guests. Bring enough to have lunch the next day, but not so much that you will be tempted to have five servings of it for lunch. Another great way to give the food away, if other people don’t want it, is to take it to soup kitchens. I had a dessert party on Christmas last year and gave all of the leftovers to a soup kitchen. They were so happy! (Remember that they might not take it because of safety concerns- but you might as well try!)
Tip #9:
Have a very healthy breakfast and lunch! (Side note: sorry that I didn’t list this earlier, I am trying to go chronologically, but I just thought of it and I’m too lazy to shift all of the numbers. Ha.) What I ate for breakfast is yogurt with blueberries. For lunch, I will eat something very small. I might eat like a half a bagel or something. I don’t know. Something like that.
Tip #10:
Park far away for Black Friday! Easy, right? A simple way to get some exercise in, post-Thanksgiving!
Well that’s all I have. Comment below telling me YOUR fav tips!
Have a wonderful holiday and if you celebrate Hanukkah have a great time! Be safe traveling if there is snow in your area. See you next time!

Leave a Reply

